Thursday, December 2 2021

The last time a Milwaukee Brewers pitcher won a Cy Young award, the franchise was in the American League.

Nearly four decades later, Corbin Burnes became the first Brewer to win a National League Cy Young award, narrowly beating out Zack Wheeler and three-time winner Max Scherzer in voting by Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Left-hander Robbie Ray of the Toronto Blue Jays won the American League award, leading the AL in ERA, strikeouts and innings pitched.

Pete Vuckovich was the last Brewers pitcher to claim the trophy in 1982, when Milwaukee resided in the AL East and won the pennant.

Burnes, 11-5 in 28 starts, received 12 of the 30 first-place votes for a total of 151 points, edging the Phillies’ Wheeler who finished with 141. The right-handed Wheeler also received 12 first-place votes after going 14-10 with a 2.78 ERA and 247 strikeouts in 2021.

Scherzer, who combined to go 15-4 with a 2.46 ERA and 236 strikeouts between the Washington Nationals and Los Angeles Dodgers, finished third in voting.

Burnes had been trending as one of the top pitchers in the league after finishing sixth in NL Cy Young voting during the shortened 2020 season. The right-hander led a stable full of solid starters that combined for a 3.13 ERA – second-best in the majors. He led the league in earned run average (2.43), strikeout rate (35.6%), strikeouts per nine innings (12.6) while allowing the fewest home runs per nine innings (0.38).

And most remarkably, his 1.63 FIP over a full season was vintage – a mark not seen since Pedro Martinez in 1999.

Corbin Burnes led the majors with a 2.43 ERA this season.Corbin Burnes led the majors with a 2.43 ERA this season.

Corbin Burnes led the majors with a 2.43 ERA this season.

The only slight to his impressive resume might be his workload. He tossed 167 innings – the fewest ever for a Cy Young winner – which ranked 19th in the NL and less than Wheeler (213 ⅓) and Scherzer (179 ⅓).

He missed two weeks of the season after testing positive for COVID-19.

His case for the award began on April 3 when he started the season with 58 consecutive strikeouts before walking his first batter, the longest streak in the majors since 1893. On Aug. 11 against the Chicago Cubs, he tied the MLB record with 10 consecutive strikeouts and finished with 15, the second-highest single-game total in franchise history.

A month later, Burnes pitched eight no-hit innings in Cleveland and combined with Josh Hader on just the second no-hitter in Brewers history.

Burnes is the first Brewer to finish in the top three of voting since Teddy Higuera in 1986.

He also becomes the third Milwaukee pitcher to win a Cy Young Award, following Vukovich and Rollie Fingers in 1981.

Walker Buehler (Dodgers), Brandon Woodruff (Brewers), Kevin Gausman (Giants), Adam Wainwright (Cardinals), Julio Urias (Dodgers) and Jacob deGrom (Mets) also received votes in the NL.

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: Brewers’ Corbin Burnes wins National League Cy Young Award

Source: Yahoo Sports


NL Cy Young award: Giants' Kevin Gausman finishes sixth in voting


Toronto Blue Jays pitcher Robbie Ray named AL Cy Young winner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Pro Sports Media

Trending Now

Why Detroit Pistons great Chauncey Billups is a believer in former team’s rebuild

PORTLAND, Ore. — Chauncey Billups’ pregame availability on Tuesday doubled as a family reunion. He sat down at the podium, glanced to his right and immediately cracked a joke with Cletus Lewis, the Detroit Pistons‘ vice president of public relations. Billups scanned the media members sitting in front of him and greeted George Blaha, the […]

Read More

How to watch Pacers vs. Hawks: NBA live stream info, TV channel, time, game odds

Through 2 Quarters Both the Atlanta Hawks and the Indiana Pacers suffered losses in their previous contests, but the Hawks are closer to making up for it. Atlanta has emerged as the frontrunner at halftime and is ahead of Indiana 65-57. Atlanta has been led by point guard Trae Young, who so far has 15 […]

Read More

Ichiro Suzuki mashes home runs at Japanese high school after baseball team writes him a letter

If you write a letter to Seattle Mariners legend Ichiro Suzuki asking if he’ll hit some dingers at your high school, he might actually show up. Suzuki did exactly that Monday, surprising the baseball team at Kokugakuin Kugayama High School in Japan. Members of the baseball team sent Suzuki a letter in January, according to […]

Read More