Thursday, January 27 2022

The annual Baseball Writers’ Association of America awards will be announced this week, and former greats will be virtually presenting the awards for the second consecutive year.

The awards begin Monday with the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year winners followed by the managers on Tuesday, the Cy Young winners on Wednesday and the MVPs on Thursday night. The award announcements can be seen on MLB Network starting at 6 p.m. ET each day.

The three finalists have already been selected, and here are the favorites for each award:

NL Rookie: Jonathan India of the Cincinnati Reds over the Cardinals’ Dylan Carlson and Marlins’ Trevor Rogers.

AL Rookie: Randy Arozarena of the Tampa Bay Rays over the Rays’ Wander Franco and Astros’ Luis Garcia.

NL Manager: Gabe Kapler, San Francisco Giants over the Brewers’ Craig Counsell and Cardinals’ Mike Shildt.

AL Manager: Kevin Cash of the Tampa Bay Rays over the Astros’ Dusty Baker and Mariners’ Scott Servais.

NL Cy Young: Corbin Burnes of the Milwaukee Brewers over the Phillies’ Zack Wheeler and Dodgers’ Max Scherzer,

AL Cy Young: Robbie Ray of the Toronto Blue Jays over the Yankees’ Gerrit Cole and White Sox’s Lance Lynn.

NL MVP: Bryce Harper of the Philadelphia Phillies over the Nationals’ Juan Soto and Padres’ Fernando Tatis Jr.

AL MVP: Shohei Ohtani of the Los Angeles Angels over the Blue Jays’ Vladimir Guerrero Jr., and Jays’ Marcus Semien.

MORE: See all 2021 MLB awards nominees

SPORTS NEWSLETTER: Sign up now to get top sports headlines delivered daily

Hall of Famer Johnny Bench will help present the 2021 rookie of the year winners.Hall of Famer Johnny Bench will help present the 2021 rookie of the year winners.

Hall of Famer Johnny Bench will help present the 2021 rookie of the year winners.

The rookie of the year awards will be virtually presented by Hall of Fame catcher Johnny Bench and former American League rookie of the year Fred Lynn.

Three-time World Series champion Bruce Bochy and one-time World Series champion manager Mike Scioscia will present the NL and AL manager of the year awards.

Former Cy Young winners Orel Hershiser and Jack McDowell will present the Cy Young awards.

Hall of Famer Mike Schmidt will present the NL MVP award.

“Having the greats of the game contributing,’’ said Marc Caiafa, MLB Network’s senior vice president of production, “adds a special touch to our coverage.’’

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: MLB greats to announce 2021 season awards

Source: Yahoo Sports


Former Liverpool and England striker Carroll joins Reading


After Daniel Norris trade, Detroit Tigers prospect Reese Olson is ready to emerge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Pro Sports Media

Trending Now

PHT Morning Skate: Capitals vs. the East; Torchetti joins Flyers’ bench

Welcome to the PHT Morning Skate, a collection of links from the NHL and around the hockey world. Have a link you want to submit? Email us at phtblog@nbcsports. • How do the Capitals, as they currently stand, stack up against the rest of the Eastern Conference? [Japers’ Rink] • John Torchetti will join Mike […]

Read More

Big Papi gets HOF call; Bonds, Clemens out

Longtime Boston Red Sox slugger David Ortiz was the lone former player to hear his name called during Tuesday’s BBWAA Hall of Fame election announcement, rewarding a career that saw a curse broken three times over. In his first year of eligibility, Ortiz received 307 out of 397 votes (77.9 percent), putting him over the […]

Read More

USMNT vs El Salvador: How to watch live, stream link, team news

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences. Update your settings here to see it. USMNT host El Salvador on Thursday in Columbus, Ohio (live, 7pm ET) as Gregg Berhalter’s side are huge favorites to move one step closer to qualification for the 2022 World Cup. A big win is expected for the […]

Read More