Thursday, December 7 2023

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid is the league’s MVP for the third time after a dominant NHL season not seen since the 1990s.

McDavid was announced as the winner of the Hart Trophy (writers vote) and Ted Lindsay Award (players vote) on Monday night after finishing with the first 150-point season since Mario Lemieux had 161 points in 1995-96. He also was the first player to lead the league in goals (64), assists (89) and points (153) since Lemieux that season and the first player in NHL history to have three point streaks of 15 games or more during a single season.

McDavid also won the Hart Trophy in 2017 and 2021. He won the Lindsay Award in 2017, 2018 and 2021.

Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid, shown on the red carpet before the 2023 NHL Awards at Bridgestone Arena, was voted the Hart Trophy for the third time.Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid, shown on the red carpet before the 2023 NHL Awards at Bridgestone Arena, was voted the Hart Trophy for the third time.

Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid, shown on the red carpet before the 2023 NHL Awards at Bridgestone Arena, was voted the Hart Trophy for the third time.

TRADE: Blackhawks find potential linemate for Connor Bedard

McDavid was presented the Hart Trophy by the family of Ben Stelter, the Oilers superfan who had died in August of cancer at age 6.

“That was an incredible surprise,” said McDavid. “It means so much to me to be standing up here with the Stelters and thinking about Ben.”

McDavid’s Hart vote was not unanimous. One member of the Professional Hockey Writers Association gave the Boston BruinsDavid Pastrnak a first-place vote.

The Bruins, who set records with 65 wins and 135 points before being upset in the first round, walked away with three individual awards.

Other winners announced at the NHL’s annual awards show:


Vezina Trophy (goaltender)

Linus Ullmark, Boston Bruins

He tied for the league lead with 40 wins and led in goals-against average (1.89) and save percentage (.938). He also scored a goal.

Norris Trophy (defenseman)

Erik Karlsson, San Jose Sharks

He led defensemen in goals (25), assists (76) and points (101). He was the first defenseman to top 100 points since Brian Leetch in 1991-92. He won the award twice previously with the Ottawa Senators.

Jack Adams Award (coach)

Jim Montgomery, Boston Bruins

He helped the Bruins set their NHL record in his first season with the team. During his speech, he mentioned being fired by the Dallas Stars because of an alcohol problem and how he had to change his behavior.


“For those who struggle, you can effect change within yourself, and it doesn’t happen alone,” he said. “You need a team. You need a community.”

Montgomery received 79 of 82 first-place votes from broadcasters.

Calder Trophy (rookie)

Matty Beniers, Seattle Kraken

The No. 2 overall pick in the 2021 draft led all rookies with 57 points and helped the Kraken reach the playoffs in their second season.

Selke Trophy (defensive forward)

Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

He won the award for a record sixth time and captured 187 of 196 first-place votes. The Bruins captain led the NHL in faceoff wins (1,043) for the eighth time in his career and posted the top winning percentage (61.1%) among centers who took at least 1,000 draws. He was on the ice for only 27 even-strength goals-against.


Lady Byng Trophy (gentlemanly play)

Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

The three-time finalist won the award for the second time. The Kings captain led his team in scoring for the 15th time with 74 points while being assessed only four penalty minutes.

Masterton Trophy (perseverance)

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins

He dealt with the second stroke of his career (missing only a few weeks), a broken foot and the death of his father. He averaged nearly 25 minutes a game and had 41 points in 64 games.

“I always dreamt of being up here and receive a trophy but that is not the one. It always means something bad happened,” he said. “This trophy, I’m the most proud, because today I’m a father and my kids will see this in the house and they’re going to know that their father never gave up in anything.”


Other award winners

Mark Messier NHL leadership award: Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning

E.J. McGuire Award of Excellence: Connor Bedard, the projected No. 1 pick of this week’s draft

King Clancy Trophy (humanitarian): Mikael Backlund, Calgary Flames

Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Jason McCrimmon, Detroit Ice Dreams Youth Hockey Association. Hockey Dean Smith of Nova Scotia’s Diversity and Inclusion Task Force was named earlier as the Canadian winner of the award.

First All-Star team: C McDavid, Oilers. LW Jason Robertson, Stars. RW Pastrnak, Bruins. Ds Karlsson, Sharks, and Adam Fox, New York Rangers. G Ullmark, Bruins.


Second All-Star team: C Leon Draisaitl, Oilers. LW Artemi Panarin, Rangers. RW Matthew Tkachuk, Florida Panthers. Ds Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche, and Hampus Lindholm, Bruins. G Ilya Sorokin, New York Islanders.

All-Rookie team: Fs Beniers, Kraken, Wyatt Johnson, Stars, and Matias Maccelli, Arizona Coyotes. Ds Owen Power, Buffalo Sabres, and Jake Sanderson, Senators. G Stuart Skinner, Oilers.

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: NHL Awards: Connor McDavid, Boston Bruins have big night

Source: Yahoo Sports


Karlsson voted NHL's top defenseman after 101-point season


2023 NHL Awards: Pekka! chants break out as Nashville Predators legend presents Vezina

Check Also